SqlDBM’s Latest And Greatest: Team Project Collaboration

One of SqlDBM’s most hotly anticipated and asked-for features is team collaboration. Many of our users informed us that database design work is a team effort, and as such it is important to allow the team to work together collaboratively on a project.

As we keep stressing again and again here at SqlDBM, we truly do listen to our users and customers. This isn’t just some mantra on the wall for us, some vague mission statement on the corporate website. No sir, we actually base our entire development path and deliverables on the feedback we get from you.

So, how does it work?

Ok, this collaboration feature all sounds very good. But, how do I, as a SqlDBM user, actually take advantage of it? How do I set it up and start using it? Glad you asked. Let’s go through an example of team collaboration to showcase the idea.

Creating Team Members

First of all, you have to define your team, which means creating the team members in your project. We will assume you have already created the project. Next, navigate to the Dashboard page which will bring up a list of all your projects.  Next, navigate to the main Projects page on your SqlDBM home page (by clicking on the stylized blue logo that says ‘SqlDBM’ or ‘SqlDBM beta’ in the upper-left). This will bring up a list of all your projects. For the project you want to collaborate on, click its context menu (the 3 vertical little dots on the far right). See screenshot below. From this context menu, select the option Project Team.

 

Or, if you have already opened your project in SqlDBM, click on the SqlDBM logo and it will display a list of options specific only to that project. One of these options is the same Project Team mentioned above. See screenshot below.

 

Once you open the Project Team option, you can create your team members and assign them roles. See sample screenshot below in which we have assigned one user the role of ‘Tester’. You also specify each member’s email address for ease of communication.

You also have the ability to create members with either ‘Edit’ or ‘Read-only’ permissions. ‘Read-only’ users can only view the project but cannot make any changes. This can be useful for some roles within a project such as QA or a project manager or client’s representative – users who may want to monitor project progress without making any changes to the project.

 

Once you are done creating the team members, SqlDBM uses the members’ email addresses to send them invites. Each member will receive an invite similar to the one shown in the screenshot below.

Working Together

Ok, so now you are done creating and inviting users, and they have logged in and ready to start working collaboratively on a common project. There is one important thing to keep in mind:

To avoid destructive interference, only one team member at a time is allowed to make changes. This is governed by use of a lock in the project. The rest of the members have view-only status, until the member who’s making changes releases the lock. The ‘Lock & Edit’ button is located in the top-right of the project window (see highlighted in screenshot below). As long as this ‘Lock & Edit’ button is active, it means you as a member can click to elevate yourself to become the editing member. If another team member is currently editing, then this ‘Lock & Edit’ button is deactivated; although of course you can still view changes to the project as soon as the editing member saves them.

Click “Lock & Edit” to make changes

“Save” Or “Revert” changes

Unlock or “Release lock”, so others can edit

Locked by another user

As long as one member is editing, the rest of the team will see a message to the effect that the ‘editing member is currently making edits’ on their own versions of the project. If you are the editing member and are done with all changes, you have the option to either save or revert your changes, and then release the lock.

Conclusion
So now you have a good idea how team collaboration works in SqlDBM. It is a great feature that allows teamwork on a common project. Keep in mind that only one team member at a time can be actively editing; the other users can only view the project until the editing member releases his/ her lock on the project.

Now you know all about SqlDBM’s project collaboration. Go on, give it a try! Create your team and start collaborating on your SqlDBM projects!

 

Related 

Load More